Products and Brands: The Best Of

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 8.33.20 PM

Source: http://wheniwentglutenfree.tumblr.com/page/7 (Check out this tumblr page for a refreshing GF laugh)

Being on a gluten-free diet, in many cases, means shelling out money. According to About.com and contributor Teri Gruss, MS, “gluten-free foods, on average, cost a whopping 242% more than regular, gluten containing foods.” Now I’m not here to investigate why this is the way it is, but I would like to help you in the food-buying process.

Being gluten-free can involve wasting lots of money on less than satisfactory products. When I was first diagnosed in January of 2010, I wished I had someone there pointing out which products and brands were the best. I’m sure my wallet would have thanked me and I would have thrown away a lot less food (and money)!

There are a few brands that I always have good luck with:

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 8.32.00 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Vanilla Granola is delicious and great for breakfast. I like to mix it with greek yogurt. It costs around $6.50.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 8.31.42 PM

These granola bars are great to pack for snacks throughout the day. I know I always like to find great “purse food.” These yummy treats cost around $5.50.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 8.32.19 PM

I remember the first time I tried these blueberry muffins. I had to double-check that they were actually gluten-free because they were so good! Their cinnamon rolls are also amazing! These cost about $6.00.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 8.48.37 PM

I have yet to find a great GF frozen pizza. So I like to either make or buy the crust and do it at home. The Udi’s crusts are the best I’ve tasted. They bake really well and have a great texture.  They are priced at about $5.00.

  • Schar. I’ve had a lot of great experiences with this brand.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 9.00.13 PM

The Schar Cheese Bites are a delicious snack and good to have on hand. (Another “purse food”!) They are even better than those goldfish I know you miss so much. These cost about $4.50.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 9.05.55 PM

Yes, Schar is my go to brand for bread. While I do venture out with bread and have found some other great brands, the Schar Classic White Bread is what I tend to stick with. It is great toasted or grilled. It runs for about $5.95.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 9.13.03 PM

I was really impressed with these Hot Dog Rolls. They were not dry like you might expect from a gluten-free bread product. While they are on the pricey side for only getting four in a pack, it’s definitely worth it on those special occasions. They cost around $6.50.

  • Enjoy Life. Words cannot describe my love for this company.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 9.21.41 PM

You haven’t lived until you’ve tried these cookies. The Enjoy Life Snickerdoodles are some of the best I’ve had. They are priced at about $4.50.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 9.25.42 PM

Sometimes you just need a great trail mix for on the go. This mix is my favorite. The combination of salty and sweet is perfect. This costs around $4.50.

  • Artisan Bistro. Perfect for the those of us living the fast life. We all know that with a gluten-free lifestyle, its cheaper (and sometimes tastier) to do the cooking and baking at home. But we don’t always have time to make every meal. For these circumstances, I discovered Artisan Bistro.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 9.34.39 PM

The Ginger Chicken meal is my favorite. You can cook it in the microwave and you’d never know that it was a frozen meal, made in the microwave.  All of their ingredients are organic and unprocessed. The cost is about $5.50.

I could go on and on all night about my favorite products and brands. There are so many! What are your favorite GF products?

Leave a Reply

